Trying new fings…

27/02/2010 at 10:57 pm (card making, crafting, crafts, papercrafts, scrapbooking, uk craft)

It is incredibly important to give new things a try. No matter what it is. This is part of my stash problem. I see something new, I have to do it. Once I do it I move on, usually never to touch that thing again unless it was utterly and totally mesmerising. Call me shallow, I probably am! Hence a shitload of stash and a hubby in despair. Although I have improved and I don’t buy anywhere near as much these days and I am a lot more choosy. Or maybe it’s cos I have so much already!!

Anyway the other week some woman was on Create & Craft with Pergamano. Now, I can hear you all going into metamorphic shock – Nikky and Pergamano, surely not!!  Well, for years I have had my beady eye on the lovely technique but it’s always so fancy schmancy and lacy and victorian which is SO not my thing.  Must be about 10 years ago I had a convo with someone where I said i was going to do it but in a different way. Right-o.  Anyway this woman totally made me crave the beautiful butterflies she  had which were no less than orgasmic. So i bought her kit which had no tools, then had to go off and buy some tools. So all in all I spent a small forch, and I mean a forch. The pattern books came and they might as well be written in the language of the Justified and Ancient from Moo Moo land cos I’ll be jiggered if I can understand it and I aren’t a brick short of a wall really.  I’m not saying what they were, most of you probably know already but I was stunned at the price of what I thought was a bit of old photocopied instructions really. Hardly any nice pics to show what you to do and on the show she said even beginners could do them. Well love, if you ever read this you are a big fat billy liar!! Yes, if you’re a beginner and you’ve bought every bloody Pergamano tool you can find maybe you can, but I think it’s outrageous that in one pattern book that had about 5 or 6 designs in it you needed something like 20 odd different tools and grids!! BUT I remained open-minded and vowed to still have a go and tonight the feeling just came over me, so I pulled out the grid, the 7 tools I’d bought and the patterns and gave it a go.  I had no idea what I was doing and after half an hour of trying to understand the book, I tossed it to a side and went for it on my own.  It’s a bit bolloxy in parts where I went wrong, I’m not the most patient of people but I am when i really want to do something but the book had already annoyed the patience out of me by this point.  Anyway here you are, my very first Pergamano butterfly, totally freestyle aka moi…

I have to say that it looked dead pants and I nearly chucked it but once I cut it out it really made a big difference…very time consuming, this took me about an hour to do, and I think my grid is too big for my tools (it’s a standard size grid) but I think I might have another go another day with one of these babies…see, I’ve done it now, time to move on! x

8 Comments

  1. Sarah Turner (notquitemarthastewart) said,

    the wings are gorgeous!

  2. mustavcoffee said,

    Hi Nicky,
    I think your butterfly is beautiful!

    Why don’t you design your own patterns but in your way, like the great owls and animals that you do. If you wanted to have traditional parchment stuff, well, that’s been done already.
    Do your designs and add texture with the traditional grids!
    I have the ‘ Back to nature’ CD and the design of the house on the hill would be great in parchment especially if you scaled it down in size.
    I love your off the wall designs!

  3. Shirley said,

    this is beautiful and I couldn’t do it in a month of Sundays. Anyone using pergamano tools may get a bit stuck too because Pauline works with Australian parchment Co and I have heard they are different sizes. I would be narked if I got anything other than a proper printed pattern sheet.
    Keep at it Nikky.
    Hugs
    Durham Lass

  4. nikkyhall said,

    Ur all v kind, I can assure you it’s a right pigs ear, u just cant see in the pic, LOL!!! Same show was on again today, really annoyed she is still saying a beginner can do it with 3 tools – I had 7 or 8 tools and I couldnt do it!!! Will be having another go though once I get a bit more time and can work out which tools I SHOULD have, lol!

  5. Trish said,

    My god this took you an hour???? I think your have done fantastic. I also have a lot of tools and patterns and find it hard to work out. But you have achieved it so easily.
    Thank you now I must get mine out and try again.

  6. nettie said,

    This is gorgeous Nikky. You are a rebel!! Hey, maybe you’ve just come up with your next idea for a CD?? Pergamano templates by Polkadoodles…………….?? I do agree with the expense of this company, which is why it’s not a regular thing in my crafting. Shame because I do enjoy doing this just as much as I enjoy quilling. At least you can claim it as your own, a NH origianl.xx

  7. Lynne Stone said,

    Trust you to jump in at the deep end… most people learn Pergamano with a simple little flower pattern… not you!!
    I think it is brilliant – considering it is your first attempt and considering the state of the instructions.
    Well done you..

  8. Tracie said,

    Aww its lovely (and not sure bolloxy is actually a word!). I never had the patience for anything like that.

    i know what you mean with trying all new techniques – crafters are like sponges and we have to soak up as much stuff as we can. my current yearning is to make a quilt for the kids…

Leave a comment