phew!

09/10/2009 at 10:00 am (card making)

Well what a busy few weeks I’ve had – life just seems to be totally mental at the moment with not a minute to spare (‘cept the addiction I’ve developed to Restaurant City on Facebook, lol!).

Well I actually managed to join in this week’s challenge over on Polkadoodles Challenges so here it is…

IMGP3235

The challenge for today is to follow my sketch and use Jingle Jangle Christmas papers and the Rubber Stamp collection but I failed to enter my own challenge correctly, LOL! Doh, what a div. So I used the Crimbley Doodles download collection instead which I must admit I DO love to bits, it’s so bright and colourful. I actually think this collecsh is good for mens xmas cards.

IMGP3237

I’ve cut out the trees from a scrap of the paper and 3d’d them.  The wide message is from the Crimbo stamp set and I coloured it in with Copics.  Now, I went a bit mad with circles. First of all I pur-chased a yummy yummy new border punch the other day from EK Success which is called Swiss Cheese and I am in LOVE with it! So all the little holes around the edge of the card are using that baby and I ran around the edges of the circles with a black pen just to add definition as the papers are a bit busy (in hindsight I wouldnt use that punch on something this busy next time, but you know when you are just desperado to use a new toy, heheh). Then I also cut a hole using a new circle punch I bought the same day (had a total craft blowout, and I MEAN a blowout!) . I put an insert inside the card and stamped the snowflake on the insert, through the circle hole to get the positioning right. I added a bit of colour with copics again and some tidgy crystal gems I found. Then I decided to tie the ribbon thorugh the hole by cutting a small slit with a knife down the spine of the card. I’m in love with that red dotty ribbon it’s Sooo expensive looking and lush.  The Noel circle is also from the stamps and was perfect for the 2nd circle on the sketch.

IMGP3236

The colouring on the Noel is  a bit pants, I do find that the Copics bleed a lot if you’re doing fine work. I do like ’em but I’m not sure I don’t like my Tombow pens better and wish I’d bought into that range more now, think I will have to switch! I think Copics are great if you have the entire collection so you can have all the colour tones but I personally think that Promarkers are better cos I like the finer tips, Copic tips are too big for colouring fine detail.  And I am a big watercolour fan and you just can’t beat your waterbrush for getting some great shading. Oh well, no doubt there are trillions of peeps who will be screaming at me now but its just my opinion! (and I do have all 3 brands and Marvy le Plume too).

Right, what else has been happening lately…ooo lots and lots…

Create and Craft are keeping me totally busy with show after show, we seem to be on twice a month at the moment and the CD’s are becoming more and more popular, yayyy, thanks to all of you who have bought one then another and another…thanks everyone.  It makes me feel all squishy inside when I know you all love the designs, as a designer you, well I, am always a bit insecure about my own stuff and I always have a few wobblers when I put a CD together (“I dont think it’s good enough, I need to put more on, I’m not happy with that”) blah blah blah. Luckily Krissy gives me a good hard slap around the smackeroo now and then otherwise I would never make the show, so he keeps me on the straight and narrow bless him.  So this last week we launched Not For Girls which is a brand new Mens collection on a double – yes, double, CD. I have to say, I’m a bit of a mentalist as I really love doing men’s stuff and it was great doing this CD. There are lots of grungey designs on there with some distressing and ephemera with loads of cool tickets and bits and pieced to cut out and ink.  The show itself was really popular and we had to increase stock as it almost sold out within about 10 mins I think, but the show itself almost finished me off before we went on air, I don’t think I’ve ever had such a stressful morning! I don’t want to relive it all again but lets just say it involved a computer from Noah’s ark and a laptop which wouldnt play – as we went live on air I didnt actually know if the PC was going to work or not and we couldnt show the Crimbo CD or Candy Doodles because we couldnt get them to work! Needless to say there was lots of pointing and whispering and shuffling around of the program whilst we were on which is why you all got to see loads and loads of the samples! I can laugh now but I am scared, as I woke up that morning having had a nightmare about the very same things!! I think I am psycho!

So, our next Create and Craft show is 23rd Oct at 10am and there will be a couple of new things on there as always so make sure you check out the show – it’s also a great way to see some of the samples close up and personal too.  Ooo how lovely the postie has just been and delivered my first set of brand new rubber stamps for the next show for me to approve! Oooops I shouldnt have said that! ;D  I love it when things turn up, so I’m off, I need to go play, sorry TEST them out! ttfn campers! xx

Leave a Reply

