22/05/2009 at 3:27 pm (card making)

…well I’ve had a very busy day sat on my backside at the screen blogging to kingdom come and this is my last post of the day cos my little fingers are worn to the wick bless ’em…if you havent seen the new polkadoodle blog by now WHAT ARE U PLAYING AT?? and if you have you will know how awesome the Design Team are.  Anyway here is my little effort..

nikky

Here I’ve used my Sugar Birdies range which will be available to buy from us at Polka Doodles very soon (make sure you pre-order for a bargain and free shipping). I’ve used 3 different papers and an orange border strip. I took one of the scallop templates and used it to cut the gorgie yellow dot paper and again used the centre to do some faux stitches.  I turned over the top right corner of the card and then turned it back up again and used some sandpaper right round all the edges and on the scallop to give it an aged feel. I wasn’t sure how this would work on a paper printed at home but it still works well! The Bird is one of my digistamps cut out and layered up, with a soft blue pen run round the edges. The flower centres…now, the flower centres…there is a very well known company out there selling a product which is a bigger version of my centres, and they simulate brads. Now to all those of you who bought those – why?? Make your own, get your hole punch out and punch yourself some, that’s ALL they are! And that way they will totally co-ordinate. (I will let you off if you bought them because they are bigger than your hole punch.) The corner of the card has a silver flower brad but I coloured it in with my white opaque pen to tie it in more. Lastly, as I’m totally upside down with all my stash it was a case of use the first ribbons to hand which happened to be these totally awesome Anna Griffin satin ones which I’ve coveted for years and never used as they were way too spesh!! So they are used now, just put two ribbons together and tie for an extra special bow.

phew i’m really tired now, must go and get dressed (yes I am still in me nightie and no nickers) and get me some brain food – as I’ve been workin’ hard I let Mr Foo make me a bacon sarnie at 9am – this resulted in chargrilled bacon which was like cardboard. However this was better than his sarnie, as by the time he made his the bacon was apparently on fire and when I heard a wail from the kitchen he explained later it was actually a result of squirting tomato sauce in his eye from a new bottle. He said it stings so I can’t recommend it to anyone. You can tell he’s a great chef can’t you, I bet you wish you had one like him.  Oh the joys of the foo household!  x

4 Comments

  1. Krista said,

    Very nice use of the colors…Krista

  2. Lou said,

    Fabby card Nikky and loving all the layers . . . where do you find the time? Looks like this DT is going to be fun fast ride (!) to say the least!

    Have a great weekend,

    Lou
    x

  3. Jozza said,

    it’s a reet lovely card my friend! You is very clever and no mistake. I am however slightly annoyed at your link to “Jozza’s nuthouse blog” !!!

  4. saskia said,

    Thanks again for inviting me to be part of your GREAT DT-team!! I really love to work with the lovely papers!!!

    Sweet, sweet greetings,
    Saskia 🙂

Leave a Reply

