the joys of technology

30/10/2007 at 8:53 am (Uncategorized)

OMG, I always thought I was really techie with my PC but i am SO getting left behind these day with the invention of blogs, facebook and mp3’s – I don’t even use my mobile phone properly!  We didn’t even use computers at my school, we had 3 in my last year you but you had to be a swottie maths club member to be able to use them and they were like these humongous beasts staring ominously from a locked computer room – us commoners getting only a mere glimpse of their looming grey screens when some dorky mathshead went in and out the room.  Slightly unfair I know, but that is my memory!  Anyway, the reason for these mumblings is my recent exploration of a) this blog and b) my new facebook and how addictive it all is.  The few friends I do have seem to own great facebooks which are really exciting and they have friends who hug and everything and then they have myspace and they upload music and and and…it’s all too much for me, I’m out of my depth!  Here I am, came in early to check my emails & do some work and I’ve spent an hour on facebook hugging people and throwing pumpkins and casting spells, with each click you get further and further away from what you originally set out to do!  I’m starting to wonder if it’s some evil plan by world governments to steer us away from all the bad things going on in the world, already I go home on a night and wonder if Ive had a reply or a comment,  it’s taking over me already and it’s just insane!!  And here I am talking to myself, as usual!

note to self: at least it’s getting me up earlier in the mornings!

Leave a Reply

